The Public Utilities Regulatory Commission (PURC) swore in seven new external committee members on Tuesday, February 8, 2022. Under Section 10 of the Public Utilities Regulatory Commission Act, 1997 (ACT 538), the Commission may for the discharge of its functions appoint committees of the Commission comprising members of the Commission or non-members or both and assign to any such committee such of its functions as it may determine.

Dr. Yaw Adu-Adjei Gyamfi, a member of the Board, the acting Executive Secretary and the Director Legal Services of the Commission were present for the brief ceremony, which was presided over by Mr. Ebo Quagrainie, Chairman of the PURC Board. Some staff from the Commission's Legal, Energy, and Public Relations Divisions were also in attendance.

Dr. Ishmael Ackah, the acting Executive Secretary, thanked members of the Committees for accepting the onerous role in his welcome comments. He urged the members to do their jobs well while assuring them of management's full support and cooperation. He emphasized the Commission's critical role in ensuring that all stakeholder interests are met, and he urged members to be firm, sincere, and honest in their work.

In his opening remarks, Mr. Ebo Quagrainie, the Commission's Board Chairman, assured the committee members of the current Commission's objectivity in ensuring that stakeholders are properly served in accordance with the PURC's mandate. He then administered the oath of secrecy to the members. He reminded the members of the importance of maintaining confidentiality and handling information they come across in the course of their work professionally. Members of the various committees were reminded that they could be called to duty at any time in the interest of the PURC. The committee members were also charged by the Chairman to uphold integrity, objectivity, transparency, and accountability by focusing on the mandate of serving all stakeholders' interests. He wished them well and congratulated them on their appointment.

Members of the various committees were chosen with care and are experts in their respective fields. Mr. Kwaku Sarpong Manu, Mr. Samuel Odame and Mr. William Amuna will serve on the Technical Committee, while Mr. John Addaquay and Mrs. Gloria Duah-Sakyi will be on the Stakeholder Management and Communication Committee. The Legal, Complaints and Dispute Resolution(LCDR) Committee will also include Mrs. Mavis Amoah and Prof. Olivia Anku-Tsede.

Press Release

Recent post